Live the Life of your Dreams

How many times have you watched one of those reality shows like ‘Keeping up with the Kardashians’ or ‘Real Housewives of Beverly Hills’ and just thought uh I wish I lived like that?!

Playing grown ups as kids was always so fun and exciting. I can’t be the only one who couldn’t wait to grow up nor fathom why grown ups said it’s not all it’s cracked up to be – like, OK, Joanne being a grown up and buying all the clothes you want must really suck! Jeez.

Oh, hindsight you wonderful thing you, the grown up’s were right. Peter Pan hit the nail on the head when he warned us “don’t grow up, it’s a trap”. There is absolutely no way I am the only one who feels jibbed, we are adults and can’t buy all the clothes we want – what kind of sorcery is this?! Payday comes around and before we can even get to the shops trusty old bills have swooped in and taken their 99% cut!

I blame school. School is the crusher of all dreams. Life skills or whatever 1 hour per week class it is we are supposed to plan the rest of our lives in. Can you imagine the reaction of the teacher and the class if your life plan was anything other than go to university, get a good degree, get a good job in a good establishment and work your way up? That plan itself is fine if that’s what your goals are and it is possible to make a good living this way, provided you are happy to make sacrifices in pretty much every aspect of your life – time, relationships, finance, experiences to name a few major areas and lets not forget that the world of business and employement is mean, cut throat and tough – working 100 hours a week does not guarantee you anything, not a promotion, not long term security, nothing.

I wonder where our imaginations and dreams went.

Add in a few really confidence boosting philosophies like “people like us dont make it in that industry”, “you gotta spend money to make money” and “the rich get rich while the poor get poorer” its a wonder many of us (particularly those of us that werent blessed with wealthy parents) even remember what a dream is.

When my boyfriend, Chris randomly suggested a book for me to read I had no idea that it was going to reignite the fire for my dreams. Before even getting half way through, my way of thinking and outlook on life had completely altered.

Over the past two years I have continued to develop this new mindset along with strategies for success that we aren’t taught about in school. I can say with absolute confidence that I can and I will achieve my dreams. All of them. The life I desire will be mine.

I invite you on this journey with me. I will share with you every twist, turn, success and failure along the way. I want you to take them, learn from them, adapt them and use them to chase your dreams because it is within us all. Whatever we desire, we can obtain. It’s not going to be easy and sometimes you are going to find alot of what you read will go against everything you have been taught but percevere. Whats the worst that could happen? You read a few blogs, think they’ve come straight from a unicorns butt and go back to life as you knew it or they inspire an exciting, positive change in your life?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

